What is the LSAT Exam?

The Law School Admission Test is a standardized test administered by the Law School Admission Council for prospective law school candidates.

Law schools consider your LSAT score along with the other components of your law school application: your GPA, the Credential Assembly Service  application, letters of recommendation, and your personal statement. At many law schools, your LSAT score is weighted just as heavily (or even more heavily than) your undergraduate GPA. Overall, the higher you score on the LSAT the more options for attending law school will be available to you. Some law schools are accepting (or are considering accepting) 

All about LSAT EXAM

LSAT : Exam Pattern

Here’s the table summarizing the details of the Law School Admission Test (LSAT):
Exam NameLaw School Admission Test (LSAT)
Conducting BodyLaw School Admission Council (LSAC)
Number of SectionsFour
LSAT Total Number of Questions92
LSAT Phases Phase 1 [January] and Phase 2 [May]
LSAT Exam ModeOnline, remote-proctored mode
LSAT Question TypeMultiple-choice type [Some questions have four answer options, while the rest have five]
LSAT Total MarksScaled score between 420 and 480, along with a score band and percentile rank
LSAT Exam Duration2 hours and 20 minutes
Exam LanguageEnglish
LSAT SectionsAnalytical Reasoning, Logical Reasoning – 1, Logical Reasoning – 2, Reading Comprehension
LSAT Negative MarkingThere is no negative marking

CLAT : Eligibility Criteria


Educational Qualification

  • Passed 12th Grade or its equivalent

  • Candidates appearing for their Class 12 exam are also eligible to apply provided that they submit their qualifying certificate at the time of admission

Minimum Marks

  • Candidates should check with the college in which they wish to apply

Age Limit

  • No upper age limit

Age Limit

Even though there is no specific eligibility for appearing in LSAT—India , candidates appearing in the entrance exam must meet the below-mentioned criteria for 5-year LLB courses. The five-year course is an undergraduate course and one can gain entry into the course after completing class 12. The requirements include LSAT qualifications and LSAT age limit.

CLAT : Syllabus

The LSAT syllabus includes five sections:

The LSAT exam syllabus consists of four sections to be completed in 35 minutes each with a total time duration of two hours and twenty minutes. The exam pattern consists of passages followed by objective-type questions based on the passage.  The table given below gives an overview of the syllabus.


Number of Questions


Analytical Reasoning


35 minutes

Logical Reasoning 1


35 minutes

Logical Reasoning 2


35 minutes

Reading Comprehension


35 minutes



2 Hours 20 Minutes

  1. English Language: This section evaluates students’ comprehension abilities through passages derived from news, journalistic sources, and non-fiction writing. Questions may involve legal information or vocabulary.
  2. Current Affairs including General Knowledge: This section tests candidates’ knowledge of national and international events, static general knowledge, and related topics.
  3. Legal Reasoning: This section assesses candidates’ ability to identify legal principles and apply them to solve problems based on given propositions and facts.
  4. Logical Reasoning: Candidates are tested on their ability to identify patterns, logical links, and rectify illogical arguments. Questions may include syllogisms, logical sequences, analogies, but visual reasoning is not included.
  5. Quantitative Techniques: This section assesses candidates’ ability to derive information from passages or questions and apply mathematical operations, including arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and data interpretation.