What is the CLAT Exam?

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a national-level entrance test for admission to undergraduate (UG) and postgraduate (PG) law studies at India's 24 National Law Universities.

CLAT is conducted by the Consortium of National Law Universities, which includes the representative universities. Several affiliated institutions and companies utilize the CLAT test for admissions and recruitment

All about CLAT EXAM

CLAT : Exam Pattern

Each section has a different weightage and number of questions. The weightage and number of questions for each section are highlighted in the table below.

Every question carries 1 mark, and 0.25 points will be deducted for every wrong answer.


Number of questions (weightage) 

English Language

22-26 (20% of the paper)

Quantitative Techniques

10-14 (10% of the paper)

Logical Reasoning

22-26 (20% of the paper)

Current Affairs, including General Knowledge

28-32 (25% of the paper)

Legal Reasoning

28-32 (25% of the paper)

Total Questions 

120 questions of one mark each

Total Marks


Total Time (min)


Negative Marking

CLAT : Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification

Any applicant who has passed the 10+2 or an equivalent examination can apply for the 2025 exam. The minimum marks required for different categories are listed below:

  • 45% marks for General/ Other Backward Class (OBC)/ Specially abled person categories
  • 40% marks for Scheduled Class (SC)/ Scheduled Tribe (ST) categories

Note: Candidates who will pass the Class 12th examination in March/ April 2025 are also eligible for the test. Upon admission, these candidates must provide proof that they passed their Class 12th exam. Candidates who fail to fulfill this will be rejected and lose their right to admission.

Age Limit

CLAT doesn’t have an age limit. As long as you meet the eligibility you can give the exam

CLAT : Syllabus

The CLAT syllabus includes five sections:

  1. English Language: This section evaluates students’ comprehension abilities through passages derived from news, journalistic sources, and non-fiction writing. Questions may involve legal information or vocabulary.
  2. Current Affairs including General Knowledge: This section tests candidates’ knowledge of national and international events, static general knowledge, and related topics.
  3. Legal Reasoning: This section assesses candidates’ ability to identify legal principles and apply them to solve problems based on given propositions and facts.
  4. Logical Reasoning: Candidates are tested on their ability to identify patterns, logical links, and rectify illogical arguments. Questions may include syllogisms, logical sequences, analogies, but visual reasoning is not included.
  5. Quantitative Techniques: This section assesses candidates’ ability to derive information from passages or questions and apply mathematical operations, including arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and data interpretation.